Principles of Maat
(the feminine counterpart of Thoth)

is the personification of physical and moral law, order, and truth, as described in the BOOK OF THE DEAD, associated with the JUDGEMENT DAY in Ancient Egypt.

42 can be also found in
TALMUD: 42 lettered name ascribed to God;
KA BA LAH: 42 lettered name of God with which the Universe is created;
ANCIENT EGYPT: 42 sacred texts of Thoth, encapsulating the training of priests;
NEW TESTAMENT: 42 names of the genealogy of Jesus;
TANAKH (BIBLE): 42 months at the End Times (Time, Times and Half a Time).

The following is the translation by E. A. Wallis Budge from the Papyrus of Ani tailored to him in around 1250 BCE:

 1. I have not committed sin.
 2. I have not committed robbery with violence.
 3. I have not stolen.
 4. I have not slain men and women.
 5. I have not stolen grain.
 6. I have not purloined offerings.
 7. I have not stolen the property of the gods.
 8. I have not uttered lies.
 9. I have not carried away food.
10. I have not uttered curses.
11. I have not committed adultery, I have not lain with men.
12. I have made none to weep.
13. I have not eaten the heart [i.e., I have not grieved uselessly, or felt remorse].
14. I have not attacked any man.
15. I am not a man of deceit.
16. I have not stolen cultivated land.
17. I have not been an eavesdropper.
18. I have slandered no man.
19. I have not been angry without just cause.
20. I have not debauched the wife of any man.

21. I have not debauched the wife of any man (addressed to a different god).
22. I have not polluted myself.
23. I have terrorized none.
24. I have not transgressed [the Law].
25. I have not been wroth.
26. I have not shut my ears to the words of truth.
27. I have not blasphemed.
28. I am not a man of violence.
29. I am not a stirrer up of strife (or a disturber of the peace).
30. I have not acted (or judged) with undue haste.
31. I have not pried into matters.
32. I have not multiplied my words in speaking.
33. I have wronged none, I have done no evil.
34. I have not worked witchcraft against the King (or blasphemed against the King).
35. I have never stopped [the flow of] water.
36. I have never raised my voice (spoken arrogantly, or in anger).
37. I have not cursed (or blasphemed) God.
38. I have not acted with evil rage.
39. I have not stolen the bread of the gods.
40. I have not carried away the khenfu cakes from the spirits of the dead.
41. I have not snatched away the bread of the child.
42. I have not slain the cattle belonging to the god.

Related: Hall of Records.
Also, please note: An assumption that all information ever registered - including via the interaction of neurons in the living brain - will be lost after death, is inconsistent with the fundamental laws of nature - Cause and Effect (Karma, the Truth).
Below: The east entrance to John Adams Building of the Library of Congress.